Courtesy visit
Courtesy Visit of The Director General, National Emergency Management Agency (Nema) Engr. Mustapha Maihaja Fnse, Fcai visit to Oyo State
January 21, 2019
Convince Our People to Vote for Credible Candidates
February 18, 2019

Oyo Govt Awards Scholarship to 165 Indigent Students


Oyo State Government has awarded scholarship worth millions of naira to One Hundred and Sixty- Five outstanding indigent students in the state to pursue their tertiary education at the Technical University, Ibadan.

The beneficiaries drawn from public secondary schools across state would have access to functional education and innovations towards becoming self reliance and solution providers after graduation.

Speaking at the Second Matriculation Ceremony of the institution held at the First Technical University Library Hall, Oyo State Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Matters, Hon. Bimbo Kolade expressed delight over the performance of first set of beneficiaries sponsored by the State Government during 2017/ 2018 academic session of the institution.

Hon. Kolade, who affirmed that the performance of the students  have confirmed the quality of students in public schools contrary to erroneous impression some people have about public schools,  hinted that the State Government would not relent in it oars to ensure the beneficiaries accomplish their dreams.

While applauding the management of the First Technical University in Nigeria for their quest for excellence, the Commissioner admonished parents of the beneficiaries to continue to encourage their children to aids better performance.

The Vice – Chancellor, Technical University Ibadan, Professor Ayobami Salami admonished the new set of students to be conscious of their words and actions in order not to bring the name of the institution into disrepute.

“We are public institution with a difference that seek to equip our students with relevant skill – set they require to stand – out among their peers”

One Hundred and Ninety Students were matriculated at the event .While University Scholars awards were awarded to fourteen outstanding students from  four faculties.

Okoro Olayemi James, a mechanical Engineering Student  emerged overall best student for the year 2017/ 2018 academic session of the institution with CGPA of 4.94 .


Media Officer : Adegoke Demola



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *