Oyo News

The Executive

Oyo State Executive powers reside in the Executive Council whose members comprise of The State Governor as Chairman and the Deputy Governor who are both elected for a tenure of 4 years.

The Governor appoints other members of the State Executive Council which include;

  • The Secretary to the State Government
  • The Chief of Staff and;
  • The Head of Service
  • Commissioners
  • Special Advisers
  • DG Due Process

The Executive arm is responsible for governance and implementation of programmes of Government as appropriated for by the Legislature.

Directly under the Executive Council is the State Economic Management Team that examines key issues of fiscal governance and makes proposals for consideration by the Executive Council which has its meetings on a weekly basis.

There are State Ministries, Extra-Ministerial Departments, Parastatals, and Agencies of the State Government (commonly called State MDAs). These are headed by Commissioners, Special Advisers, General Managers, Director-Generals, Executive Secretaries or Director as the designation may apply.

  • Executive Council Members

    Name Position Held
    His Excellency, Oluseyi Abiodun Makinde President of the Executive Council
    His Excellency, (Engr.) Abdul-Rouf Aderemi Olaniyan Deputy President of the Executive Council
    Mrs. Olubamiwo Adeosun Secretary to the State Government
    Chief Lukman Oyebisi Ilaka Chief of Staff
    Mrs Ololade Amidat Agboola Head of Service
    Prof. Oyelowo Oyewo Attorney-General & Commissioner for Justice
    Hon. Akinola Ojo Commissioner for Finance
    Hon. (Mrs.) Funmilayo Orisadeyi Commissioner for Special Duties
    Dr Abdullateef Idowu Oyeleke Commissioner for Environment & Natural Resources
    Dr. Bashir Victor Abiodun Bello Commissioner for Health
    Barr. Adenìyí John Farinto Commissioner for Budget & Economic Planning
    Dr. Wasiu Olatubosun Commissioner for Information, Culture & Tourism
    Hon. Muyiwa Jacob Ojekunle Commissioner for Agriculture, Natural Resources & Rural Development
    Chief Mikail Adebayo Lawal Commissioner for Local Government & Chieftaincy Matters
    Alhaja Fausat Joke Sanni Commissioner for Women Affairs, Community Development, Social Welfare...
    Hon. Adeniyi Olabode Adebisi Commissioner for Trade, Industries & Cooperatives
    Alhaji Ismail Ayansiju Lawal Commissioner for Establishment and Training
    Hon. Rahman Abiodun Abdul-Raheem Commissioner for Lands, Housing, Survey and Urban Development
    Barr. Temilolu Nurudeen Oluwaseun Asamu Commissioner for Energy & Mineral Resources
    Prof. Dahud Kehinde Sangodoyin Commissioner for Works & Transport
    Barr. Olasunkanmi Aremu Olaleye Commissioner for Education, Science & Technology
    Hon. Oluwaseun Temidayo Fakorede Commissioner for Youth & Sports
    Ms. Tara Adefope Director General, Bureau of Public Procurement

meet our principal officers