Oyo News

Legislative power in the State lies with the Oyo State House of Assembly (OYSHA) composed of elected Constituency Members and assisted by Support Staff. The Oyo State House of Assembly has members who are elected for a tenure of 4 years to represent their various State constituencies.

The State House of Assembly has;

  • The Speaker
  • The House Leader
  • The Chief Whip and;
  • The House Committee Chairman as key officers.

The Legislature has oversight functions over the Executive arm and the Local Government Councils (LGCs) of the State.


  • House functionaries

    Name Position Held
    Rt. Hon. Edward Adebo Ogundoyin Speaker
    Hon. Abiodun Mohammed Fadeyi Deputy Speaker
    Hon. Onaolapo Sanjo Adedoyin Majority Leader
    Rt. Hon. Asimiyu Niran Alarape Minority Leader
    Hon. Hakeem Adeshina Adedibu Chief Whip
    Hon. Ayotunde Olajide Fatokun Chairman, Parliamentary Council
    Hon. Olasunkanmi Samson Babalola Deputy Majority Leader
    Hon. Yusuf Oladeni Adebisi Deputy Chief Whip
    Hon. Akintunde Emmanuel Olajide Deputy Chief Whip (PDP) and Chairman, Committee on Commerce and Cooperative
    Hon. Kazeem Tunde Isiaka Party Whip (APC) and Chairman, committee on Culture and Tourism
    Hon. (Mrs.) Bimbo Olawumi Oladeji Party Whip (ADP) and Chairman, Committee on Women Affairs and Community Development
  • Honorable Members

    Name Position Held
    Hon. Abdulakeem. Olawale Mustapha Chairman, Committee on Science and Technology
    Hon. Lateef. Olayiwola Adebunmi Chairman, Committee on Special Duties
    Hon. Ademola Abdullahi Rasak Chairman, Committee on Water Resources
    Hon. Femi Julius Okedoyin Chairman, Committee on Solid Minerals Development
    Hon. Fola Sunday Oyekunle Chairman, Committee on Youth and Sports and House Committee on Public Petition and Judiciary
    Hon. Adewale Francis Adetunji Chairman, Committee on Investment, Monitoring and State Economic Planning
    Hon. Olamide Francis Olagoke Chairman, Committee on works and Transport
    Hon. Kazeem. Onaolapo Olayanju Chairman, Committee on Information, Media and Public Affairs
    Hon. Rasak. Adekunle Mabaje Chairman, Committee on Environment, Labour, Productivity and Pensions
    Hon. Akeem Olaleye Obadara Chairman, Committee on Security and Strategies
    Hon. Olusola. Adewale Owolabi Chairman, Committee on Environment and Ecology
    Hon. Oluseyi Adisa Chairman, Committee on Foreign Relations
    Hon. Ademola. O. Popoola Chairman, Committee on Local Government,Chieftaincy Matters and State Honours
    Hon. Rilwan. Gbadamosi Saminu Chairman, Committee on Health
    Hon. Peter. Gbadegesin Ojedokun Chairman, Committee on Agriculture and Rural Development
    Hon. Babajide. Gabriel Adebayo Chairman, committee on Fund Allocation and Committee on Human Rights and Democratic Governance
    Hon. Olatunde. Taofik Kehinde Chairman, Committee on Public Accounts, Finance and Appropriation
    Hon. Oluwafemi. Adebayo Oluwafowokanmi Chairman, Committee on Education
    Hon. Simeon Adegbola. Oyeleke Chairman, Committee on Establishments, Training and Poverty Alleviation
    Hon. Bamidele. Oladimeji Adeola Chairman, Committee on Lands, Housing & survey and House Committee on Legislative Compliance
    Hon. Jacob. Abidoye Bamigboye Chairman, Committee on Inter-Parliamentary Relations

Find out more about your representatives here.